Union of Tegaru Youth in North America (UTYNA)

August 20, 2017

Official Press Release For the Newly Elected UTYNA Executive Board

The Union of Tegaru Youth in North America (UTYNA) announces the appointment of seven new members to its Executive Board for 2017. The newly elected members of the Executive Board include; Zenebe Aregawi, Dr. Feven Girmay, Engineer Rahel Tesfay, Amde Tadele, Dawit Asfaw, Selam Geberargay, and Binyam Belay.

An association of Tegaru youth, UTYNA is working to create a platform for social connectedness, cultural awareness/exchange, philanthropy, and community engagement. While UTYNA represents a wide range of individuals and interests, the group shares a firm belief in the need to foster a collective identity and strengthen community ties across boarders.

The election of the committee took place on August 1st, 2017 in Las Vegas, NV during the annual Tigray Festival. Upon election, Chairman Zenebe Aregawi made the initial address to the crowd, "we have been given a big responsibility, and have been entrusted by you all to take on this important role. Therefore, on behalf of myself and the seven of us who have been elected, I am making a promise to you to remain dedicated." Furthermore, the board stressed that they would work to foster a sense of cultural pride, thereby prompting the youth to give back to their communities both domestically and abroad.

The seven elected members come from various parts of the U.S., including Minnesota, Nevada, Washington D.C., and Boston. Yet, the board stresses the importance of including representatives from across all parts of North America to further the mission of the organization. More specifically, UTYNA seeks to combine and capture the social and intellectual capital of the youth by networking among all ages and providing an open environment for our communities in North America and beyond.

For more information on UTYNA please e-mail UTYNA2017@gmail.com

The slate of board members for 2017 is listed below.

Zenebe Aregawi, **Chairman** Dr. Feven Girmay, **Vice Chairman** Engineer Rahel Tesfay, **Secretary** Amde Tadele, **Co-Treasurer** Dawit Asfaw, **Co-Treasurer** Selamawit Geberargay, **Public Relations Co-Chair** Binyam Belay, **Public Relations Co-Chair**